LENT, GOOD FRIDAY, APRIL 18

REFLECTION:  IT IS FINISHED

A SIMPLE MEAL-GOOD FRIDAY

What is a simple meal that your family likes to prepare?  SHARE your recipe with a friend and together. PRAY for all who go hungry every day.  GIVE the money you save to your Rice Bowl.

PRAYERS:  GOOD FRIDAY:  And at the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have your forsaken me?”  Mark 15:34

Forsaken by both God and man, my Savior, you went through hell for me.  You did more than just go through hell; you conquered it, Christ Jesus, by obliterating the gates of hell on the cross.  My God, let me know the love that you have for me.  Let me know the price that has been paid on my behalf.  The crosses that I carry are nothing compared to your cross.  Yet I take up my crosses knowing that you, O Lord, have taken up the far greater cross for me. Amen

HE HAD TO DIE:  When you make his life an offering for sin, he shall see his offspring, and shall prolong his days; through him the ill of the LORD shall prosper.  Isaiah 53:10

How often have I missed the spiritual fruits of this season without even being aware of it? But how can I ever really celebrate Easter without observing Lent?  How can I rejoice fully in your resurrection when I have avoided in participating in your death?

     Yes, Lord, I have to die–with you, through you and in you–and thus become ready to recognize you when you appear to me in your resurrection.  there is so much in me that needs to die:  false attachments, greed and anger, impatience and stinginess.  O Lord, I am self-centered, concerned about my self, my  career, my future, my name and fame.  Often I even feel that I use you for my own advantage.  How preposterous, how sacrilegious, how sad!

Crucified Savior, we praise your sacrifice.

LENT, GOOD FRIDAY: THE WORST IS OVER – PUT YOURSELF IN MARY’S PLACE

Leave a comment