WE ARE GOD’S CATS, LET’S BE HIS DOGS…………..

From Catholic Digest, Author, Tom Hoopes. “I have a theory: God gave us cats to show us the stupid ways we act toward him, and God gave us dogs to demonstrate how he really wants us to treat him……………Dogs treat their masters the way the saints treat God. Cats treat their owners—well, like I treat God……………..

Compare them side by side, and it always comes out the same: My dog is obedient. My cat expects me to obey her. My dog is humble, accepting herself as she is. My cat is a narcissist, obsessively grooming herself.

My dog is patient, waiting all day if necessary for what she wants. My cat is haughty, walking away in a huff is you fail to meet her exacting demands.

I am the center of my dog’s world. My cat is the center of a world that includes me somewhere at the fringes.

So here is my prayer: ‘Lord, forgive me for behaving like my cat. Forgive me for treating you like I own you. Grant me a faith that is humble and obedient, a hope that trusts in you to do good things for me, and a love that revolves around you and your will. Lord, grant me the grace to be more like my dog!”

Leave a Reply

