Connies Memories, cont’d

Hi all, it’s been a busy summer but I miss blogging so ….Today for some reason I was thinking about when I was young and still playing with dolls.  I remember my girlfriend and I taking all my doll stuff out on the lawn in the summer and playing dolls under the tree in the yard.  For some reason the picture is still vivid in my mind. We had the doll crib, bureau, and doll cloths outside and I remember having a great time and playing until it was time for supper. Of course, then we had to bring it all back inside and to my room, but that was no big deal because we always had to bring our toys in and put them where they went before we came in for supper or at least before we went to bed.

I really don’t understand kids today.  You ride by houses that have kid’s toys all over the lawn and they stay out during the rain and even snow.  Maybe it was because we didn’t have much  money or many toys, but we knew that we had better take care of them if we wanted more later.  It was a rule at my house, and when I had children it was a rule for them also. Bring the toys in or put them under cover before you come in. And I usually did a once over before dark to be sure everything was put away.  I don’t understand not taking care of what you have.  Even today, when children have a lot more than we did, their parents are still working many hours to pay for each toy, and the toys cost so much more.  A parent who makes $12.00 an hour and buys a $75. bicycle had to work at least 6 hrs to pay for that one toy.   Why wouldn’t the parents impress upon them the value of the work they do and the value of their toys.  I just don’t get it. 

Anyway, I still value the toys I had when I was young, and thanks to my parents and relatives, I had some fun things to play with. 

Leave a Reply

