LENT DAY 2

March 6  Thought for the day:

Catholic Social Teaching:  The Common Good.  In order for all of us to have an opportunity to grow and develop fully, a certain social fabric must exist within society.  This is the common good.  We all share responsibility for helping our neighbors achieve their fullest potential.

PRAYER:  “Then Jesus told his disciples,  “if anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.”  Matthew 16:24

“The full sacrifice has been made. Holy blood has been poured out for me.  Christ has offered himself up on the cross in order to restore all of your creation, O God.  All that was necessary to forgive sins has been accomplished by the cross of Christ.  Nevertheless, Lord, you invite me to deny myself and take up crosses of my own.  You beckon for me to die to myself and rise to new life in Christ.  These crosses I carry transform my feeble plans and turn them into your far great plans. Amen”  from:  TAKE UP YOUR CROSS pamphlet

TRUST IN GOD

What does it profit them if they gain the whole world, but lose or forfeit themselves?  Luke 9:25

“What is our security base?  God or Mammon?  That is what Jesus would ask.  He says that we cannot put our security in God and money.  We have to make a choice.  Jesus counsels:  “Put your security in God.”  We have to make a choice where we want to belong, to the world or to God.  Our trust, our basic trust, Jesus teaches, has to be in God.  As long as our real trust is in money,  we cannot be true members of the Kingdom…What is the true base of our security/  Loving God, I put my trust in you.”  from: GOD’S ABIDING LOVE booklet.

 

Leave a Reply

