LENT, DAY 9, THURS. MARCH 13

REFLECTION:  Station 3:  Jesus Falls for the First time – Many people in Kariobangi don’t have regular jobs.  They “fall” every day as they search for work to support their families.  How many people do you know who are looking for a job?  Give 25cents to your Rice Bowl for each person.

PRAYER FOR THE DAY:  He will yet fill your mouth with laughter, and your lips with shouting.  Job 8:21

My family loves to laugh, O God, almost as much as they love to shout. (sounds like my family-how about yours?)Almighty God, fill my home with laughter and calm our shouting when our anger swells.(my family shouts to be heard above all the other shouting to be heard) no in anger, how about yours?).  Uphold me as I carry this cross of family.  Let me be a source of godly peace in my household as I share your forgiveness with my family.  You are slow to anger and abounding in love.  Loving Father, fill me with your Spirit so that I can take up the crosses of family.  Amen

WILLING TO SHARE THE PAIN  Do to others as you would have them do to you; for this is the law and the prophets.  Matthew 7:12

Caring as God’s beloved children is making the effort to be present to, listen to and affectionately embrace a weaker brother or sister who may have been frightened by harsh comments, examined by hostile hands or ignored by deaf ears.  We do this even when we can do nothing to change the situation.l  This is the crux of our challenge.  Whether or not we have chosen caregiving as our profession, we do profess that caring is first of all about presence to a beloved brother or sister who at this moment feels powerless.  Right here, we accept in ourselves that we are not first of all someone who takes the pain away, but rather someone who is willing to share it.

Dear Jesus, guide me in service to others.

Have a blessed Lent

Leave a Reply

