LENT, DAY 18, SAT. MARCH 22

REFLECTION:  THOUGHTS FROM POPE FRANCIS  “The goal of economics and politics is to serve humanity, beginning with the poorest and most vulnerable wherever they may be, even in their mothers’ wombs.”  PRAY FOR THE PROTECTION OF THOSE WHO ARE VULNERABLE AND IN NEED.”

PRAYER:   But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you.  Psalm 5:11

My community is not always as safe as I would like it to be, Gracious God.  There are times when I am filled with concern about my neighborhood.  Lord, calm my fears and ease my concern.  Take the many crosses that I carry for my community and use them as a way to increase the well-being of my neighbors.  Breathe new life into this place, spreading your protection over my community and using me to promote justice. Amen.  (Trevor Sutton-“Take up your Cross)  I BELIEVE WE COULD SAY THE SAME PRAYER DAILY FOR OUR COUNTRY.

GOD SAYS WHO I AM:  WHO is a God like you, pardoning iniquity and passing over the transgression of the remnant of your possession? Micah 7:18

What basically Jesus is saying is that all of what I have said so far is a big lie.  That we are not what we have nor what other people say about us.  We are not the product of the world in which we live.  That is not who we are.  So the gospel is a radical statement that our identity, who we are as people, is not given to us by the outer world.  Who are we? We are children Of God.  We are not what happens here on this line, but we belong to God, the children of God.  God says I am who I am.  You are who you are as a child of God.

 

 

DEAR GOD, SHOW ME WHO I AM.

Is your Lent fruitful???

Leave a Reply

