LENT, DAY 29, WED. APRIL 2

REFLECTION:  READ  Genesis 2:4-15         “The Lord God then took the man and settled him in the garden of Eden, to cultivate and care for it.” How many kinds of fruits and vegetables do you have in your house?  GIVE 25 cents to your Rice Bowl for each type.

PRAYERS;  But I say to you who hear, Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you.  Luke 6:27

Christ Jesus, loving the hard-to-like should be easier than loving my enemies.  Yet finding even the smallest amount of love for prickly people is hard for me.  Lord, you have placed many diverse people in my life.  Some of the people I deal with on a daily basis are a joy to be around; some of the people I deal with on a daily basis are everything but joyful.  Give me unending love as I carry the crosses of my relationships.  Show me how to love hard-to-like people.  Amen. (This has happened to me recently, that someone that I associate with is very hard to like.  However, Jesus does not require that we have to like people, only that we need to LOVE them and treat them respectfully.) God give me the strength and wisdom to love ALL your children, especially the hard-to-like ones.)

REMEMBER ME

Can a woman forget her nursing child, or show no compassion for the child of her womb?  Isaiah 49:15

Different people remember a similar illness, accident, success or surprise in very different ways, and much of their sense of self derives less from what happened than from how thye remember what happened…Most of our human emotions are closely related to our memory.  Remorse is a biting memory, guilt is an accusing memory, gratitude is a joyful memory, and all such emotions are deeply influenced by the way we have integrated past events into our way of being in the world.  In fact, we perceive our world with our memories.  Our memories help us to see and understand new impressions and give them a place in our richly varied life experiences.

Loving God, I know you will never forget me.  Help me remember you are with me always.

Have a beautiful Lent

 

Leave a Reply

