LENT, DAY 37, APRIL 10, THURS

REFLECTION:  STATION 11:  JESUS IS NAILED TO THE CROSS.  Haiti is the poorest country in the Western hemisphere.  80% of Haitians live on less than $2 a day.  GIVE $2. to your Rice Bowl in solidarity with those Haitians who are “nailed” to the cross of poverty.

PRAYERS; A tranquil heart gives life to the flesh, but envy makes the bones rot.  Proverbs 14:30

Heavenly Father, I confess that I often wonder what life would be like if I had a different job.  My speculation quickly turns into envy:  if only I had “that” job, then life would be better.  Lord, keep me from envious thoughts about work.  You have blessed me with the job that I have.  Give me a tranquil heart and teach me to take up the crosses of work with contentment.  Teach me to love my vocation and to serve you and my neighbor through my work.  by Trevor Sutton.    (Of course, I can also pray for another vocation while doing the best at the one I have.  And when a great opportunity is put before me, I pray for guidance, and if yes is His answer, I must be ready to trust and go for it. However, I must be wise enough never to give up one job before I have another, since God expects me to do my best to support my family at all times.)

‘DO NOT JUDGE’  HE IS THE LORD OUR GOD; HIS JUDGMENTS ARE IN ALL THE EARTH.  Psalm 105:7

In judging, we deal with our own fears by putting other people into little boxes and, in effect, declaring them dead. “Oh, I know him,: we say. “I know that type.  He’s not worth talking to.”  In doing this, we take the position that new life is no longer possible in our relationships with people.  We have already decided who they are.  We don’t want to be bothered any more.  That is why Jesus says, “Do not judge.”  Labeling people prevents us from seeing them as brothers and sisters and from developing community with them. 

Merciful Jesus, stop me from labeling and judging people.

Have a forgiving Lent

 

One thought on “LENT, DAY 37, APRIL 10, THURS

  1. Pingback: LENT, DAY 37, APRIL 10, THURS | American Patriot

Leave a Reply

