LENT-MONDAY OF HOLY WEEK, APRIL 14

REFLECTION:  CATHOLIC SOCIAL TEACHING:  Global Solidarity

We are all part of one human family—whatever our national, racial, religious, economic or ideological differences–and in an increasingly interconnected world, loving our neighbor means helping people all over the world.

PARYERS;  Then he said to them all:  “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me.”   Luke 9:23

When I survey the wondrous cross, O Lord, I am captivated by the great price you willingly paid for me.  This great love demands my soul, my life, my all.  I admit that I am not always willing to take up my cross daily and follow you.  In my times of selfishness, give me selflessness.  In my times of self-preservation give me a spirit of self-sacrifice.  Teach me to take up the crosses of faith, recklessly abandoning my old self, and wholeheartedly follow you.  Amen

‘DO NOT FEAR’   Though an army encamp against me, my heart shall not fear.  Psalm 27:3

Today, O Lord, I felt intense fear.  My whole being seemed to be invaded by fear.  No peace, no rest–just plain fear: fear of mental breakdown, fear of living the wrong life, fear of rejection and condemnation, and fear of you…I feel so powerless to overcome this fear.  Maybe it is your way of asking me to experience some solidarity with the fearful people all over the world:  those who are hungry and cold in this harsh winter, those who are threatened by unexpected guerrilla attacks, and those who are hidden in prisions, mental institutions, and hospitals.  O Lord, this world is full of fear.

BANISH MY FEAR, O, LORD.  BE MY LIGHT AND STRENGTH. 

(As I was typing this prayer, I was thinking this certainly doesn’t apply to me, I don’t usually feel fear, because, thank God, things right now are going good for me.  But as I read the prayer, I realized 2 things.  My life could change instantly and in 2/3rds of the world at least most people do live in fear.  So first, I thank God that at this moment I am privileged to live without fear, and second, I and we need to pray daily that somehow change will come to the other parts of the world, and others can also live without fear.  I cannot even imagine constantly living in fear, of starving, of terrorists, of no place to rest, of neighbors who might turn me in, and so on.)

O, LORD, PLEASE HELP US CHANGE THE REST OF THE WORLD SO OTHERS CAN LIVE IN PEACE.

PRAY FOR PEACE THIS LENT

Leave a Reply

