EASTER, FRIDAY, THE 3RD WEEK, 5/9

(A reading from the holy Gospel according to John  6:52-59)  THE Jews quarreled among themselves, saying, “How can this man give us his Flesh to eat?”  Jesus said to them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, unless you eat the Flesh of the Son of Man and drink his Blood, you do not have life within you.  Whoever eats my Flesh and drinks my Blood has eternal life, and I will raise him on the last day.  For my Flesh is true food, and my Blood is true drink.  Whoever eats my Flesh and drinks my Blood remains in me and I in him.  Just as the living Father sent me and I have life because of the Father, so also the one who feeds on me will have life because of me.  This is the bread that came down from heaven.  Unlike your ancestors who ate and still died, whoever eats this bread will live forever.”  These things he said while teaching in the synagogue in Capernaum.  (The Gospel of the Lord)

This seems quite plain to me.  If we are to believe the rest of the teaching of John, then we must also believe what Jesus said about eating His Flesh and drinking His Blood.  We can’t pick and choose what we believe. At every Catholic Mass, the Sacrament of the Eucharist,  when the Priest says the words that Jesus said at the last supper, the bread and wine is changed into His Body and Blood.  Yet it looks the same. Honestly, if it actually looked like body and blood, no one could eat or drink it, it would totally gross us out.  It is called transfiguration.  It changes, but looks the same.  How do I and millions of Catholic Christians, Orthodox Catholics, and I believe also, Episcopalians, know that this is so, BECAUSE JESUS SAID IT WAS SO.  If I remember another place in the gospel, a lot of people walked away when Jesus taught this because they couldn’t believe or understand.  How is it so hard to understand this, when Jesus actually came back to life after he was crucified, died and was buried?  I know a lot of Christian Churches have a different take on this, THEY ALSO DO NOT BELIEVE, JUST AS THE JEWS DID NOT BELIEVE.  Why, I do not know. Some say that communion is in memory, but that is not what Jesus said.  Some say, the host turns into His body when we believe it in our hearts, but that is not what Jesus said. 

I am sure that Jesus know exactly what is happening and knows exactly how and when we will all agree on this BEAUTIFUL SACREMENT OF THE EUCHARIST.  In the meantime, we must be tolerant and understanding of each others beliefs, since all of us honest, caring, Christians want the same thing, “To Live With Him In Heaven Forever.”  For this we must pray daily.

PRAYER:  O Lord our God, you sent into the midst of faithless humanity the living Bread, your risen Son, our Lord Jesus Christ, to nourish and strengthen us on the road.  Through the mystery  of the cross, you poured forth upon us the Spirit, the water of life.  Have mercy on our lack of trust, and lead us in your way today, through the same Christ our Lord. Amen

GOD BLESS EACH AND EVERY ONE OF YOU TODAY!

 

Leave a Reply

