SHARING STORIES OF FAITH

I just read this terrific article about sharing stories of faith by Father Dwight Longenecker In the CATHOLIC DIGEST.  We Christians always talk about evangelization, but I find it harder to do then say. I believe in my Faith totally and want to share, usually just not sure how.  This article got me thinking. 

People are hungry to hear about the reality of God’s work in the world. Father said:”  What do I mean by a “faith story?” A faith story is any account we share about how our Catholic/Christian faith has been real in our lives.  It may be a dramatic miracle story, or it may be a down-to-earth story about an answered prayer, an unexpected grace, or a simple blessing.  GOD IS NOT A THEORY. HE IS ALIVE AND ACTIVE IN THE WORLD.” 

“If we stop and think about it, IN THE BEGINNING..there were faith stories.  the largest part of sacred Scripture consists of faith stories.  One way to understand the Bible is to see it as one great saga of the relationship between God and Humanity.  From Adam and Eve to the patriarchs and prophets, coming to fulfillment in the Gospels and continuing with the adventures of the apostles–the Bible is one long, exciting and thrilling faith story.”

Now, I was thinking about my faith story.  I have come to believe my whole life has been a faith story.  For example, if my parents had not brought me up in the Christian faith, what would have happened to me? Where would I be?  What would I have done?  My parents taught me who to pray and ask for help making the decisions that God wanted for me.  I have let God lead me (most of the time anyway) and I have had the most incredible adventures and life anyone could ask for.  So, in the following weeks,  I am going to start telling my faith story, and how I got from there to here, still alive and well and most of all, still a Catholic Christian.

THINK ABOUT YOUR FAITH STORY, I WOULD LOVE TO HEAR IT.  WAS IT A ONE TIME THING, A MIRACLE? OR WAS IT YOU LIFE?

Leave a Reply

