MY STORY OF FAITH, CHAPTER 1

My Story of Faith began when I was born.  I don’t know how I was so blessed, but I was born into a family of Catholics who truly lived their faith.  My parents brought me to be Baptized when I was a couple of weeks old.  Catholics believe we should be Baptized early to be free of Original Sin as soon as possible, and the parents promise to bring their young children up in the Faith they were Baptized in. We also have God Parents who also promise to help the parents bring their child up in the Faith.

So I was born to wonderful parents who did their absolute best to bring me up in their Faith, and teach and show me the way to get to Heaven.  They set an example and “practiced what they preached”. They were active in their church and so was I.  I went to Catholic Grade School.  If you think that makes a person holy, nooo it does not, but the Nuns taught us respect, of our parents, of the teachers and of God and the Church.  Catholics believe that it is a sin to miss Mass on Sunday, unless a person is sick or for some serious reason, so we went to church every Sunday.  It was fun for me since I got to sit beside my parents, and then after, we usually stopped to visit my Grandmother, pick up some donuts, and go home to eat breakfast. or dinner, depending how early it was. Going to Mass in my family was the beginning of a wonderful day with family. 

So for the first 12 or so years of my life, I tried to be a good person.  Didn’t always succeed and spent a lot of time sitting on a chair or being sent to my room for picking on my younger brother & sister or disobeying my parents.  The only time I was spanked on the rear was if I did something to endanger my self or someone else.  And I was never hit by my parents. 

We said the rosary every night during Lent, we went to Confession once a month, and as a child, most of the things I confessed would have been small things, but it felt good to tell the priest, knowing he represented God and that I received His Grace to go out and start anew, and try to be a better child.  We went to Mass once a week and also on special days. Being in Catholic School, we all went to Mass On Special Days during the school year.  Benediction on Sunday afternoon during Lent. Saying the Rosary every night as a family during Lent.  Belonging to Children of Mary.  Going to Christmas Parties with my parents to the organizations they belonged too. 

In case all this sounds boring, my parents knew how to make things interesting. It is fun when you are part of a family worshiping together.  Of course, sometime I went under protest, but my parents knew what was best, and of course they were right.

MOSTLY, MY PARENTS GAVE ME THE FOUNDATION I NEEDED TO MAKE GOOD DECISIONS FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE.  Of course, I didn’t make good decisions all the time, but I did have the foundation to fall back on when times got tough.  So, the rest of my Faith Story will be the good and bad decisions and how many times I was “Born Again” in the Faith.

Now that I am older and realize what my parents actually gave me, I thank God every day for giving me to parents who cared enough to teach me about God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit, and to teach me how to pray and to take time for prayer.

Leave a Reply

