MEDITATION OF THE DAY (SAINT JOAN)

SAINT JOAN OF ARC

You felt so afraid,
so all alone
in the dungeon
of disbelief
mistrust,
daggers thrust
into your confidence.
Your cheek
you turned
against the splinters
of the stake
and there it stayed
and burned.

Charred body’s
what was left
to tell the story of your death.
But of your life,
what could we say?

Not a fallen soldier
but a burnt and blackened bride
went to paradise
that day.

(By Rita A. Simmonds, an award-winning poet who lives in Brooklyn with her husband and 2 children)

I THINK THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL POEM OF SAINT JOAN, A HERO IN HER TIME, A HERO STILL TODAY. SHE FOUGHT AND DIED FOR HER FAITH.

I took her name as my Saint’s name when I was Confirmed, in hopes I would have the same courage to defend my faith as she did.
I have a young lady friend who recently did the same thing. I was and am very proud of her for having that kind of courage.

Leave a Reply

