FAITH STORY, CHAPTER 3, AND MY MEMORIES, 6/21 SAT

I WAS A SINGLE PARENT, AFTER MY DIVORCE, TAKING CARE OF 4 CHILDREN, IT WAS HARD WORK, FUN, VERY REWARDING AND SOMETIME VERY STRESSFUL.  I WORKED 40-45 HRS A WEEK AS AN INSURANCE ADJUSTER, AND OWNED MY OWN AMWAY, NETWORKING BUSINESS WHICH WAS ANOTHER 10-20 HRS A WEEK.  IT WAS ALL HARD WORK AND SOMETIME I GOT DISCOURAGED.  THERE WERE ANY NUMBER OF TIMES WHEN I SIMPLY PRAYED TO HAVE ENOUGH MONEY TO PAY THE MORTGAGE, GAS AND FOOD, AND IT SEEMED THAT EACH TIME I REALLY NEEDED HELP, HELP CAME.  I RECEIVED MONEY IN THE MAIL ONE TIME FROM MY RETIREMENT ACCOUNT FROM A PREVIOUS COMPANY JUST WHEN THE MORTGAGE COMPANY WAS GOING TO FORCLOSE.   I NEEDED A NEW SEPTIC SYSTEM AND THE COMPANY AGREED TO ACCEPT PAYMENTS, WHICH THEY NEVER DID.  MY OIL  company let me pay way less a month than I was supposed to, as long as I paid all summer to catch up,(This was before the payment plans came out)  I even stopped one time an bought  50 cents worth of gas, to get to work on pay day. I still remember that and much more, but it seemed God always came through. I was worried about food, my friend caught a deer, I helped him wrap it and he gave me half, meat for most of the winter.  My car wouldn’t start, the battery cable broke, myself and my sons taped it together, the car started and I got to work and the garage.  My car froze up right on the highway on the way to work, right outside my Oil Company’s house.  They drove me to work and thawed out my car so someone could drive me there on the way home from work.  My car wouldn’t start in a shopping strip mall,  I checked and a distributor cable was broken off, I looked up and there was an automotive store right in front of me.  I bought a cable, chucked the old one, and started up my car. There were so many other times when I didn’t know what to do and God came through.  I did nothing special, I just prayed every night and morning, went to church on Sunday, said my Rosary Beads once in awhile, and tried to be the mother and person God wanted me to be.

One time sticks out in my mind as the moment I knew Jesus cared about me.  I was working two jobs, I was tired and discouraged and our leaders in our Amway Marketing business held a campout in the middle of the summer, in a beautiful place in Maine.  On Sunday Morning we had an outdoor Worship Service.  It was a beautiful service, preaching and singing and then the preacher started talking about why Jesus died on the Cross.  We all usually say Jesus died for Us on the Cross.  But that day he made it personal. He looked at each one of us and said, “He died for you (say your name) and you and you, and we each said our name to ourselves.  My friends must of known I needed them, because one took my hand and one put her arm around me and of course I stood there with tears coming down my face.  It’s strange that things always happen when you need them most, isn’t it?  Only Jesus would know what I needed when I needed it.

The interesting thing was that the priest, some 30 yrs later said that same exact thing in Mass today when he talked about Holy Eucharist and why Jesus died for me and each one of us.

TODAY THE CATHOLIC CHURCH CELEBRATES: THE SOLEMNITY OF THE MOST HOLY BODY AND BLOOD OF CHRIST.

AMEN, AMEN, I say to you, whoever believes has eternal life.  I am the bread of life.  Your ancestors ate the manna in the desert, but they died; this is the bread that comes down from heaven so that one may eat it and not die.  I am the living bread that came down from heaven; whoever eats this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world.  (John 6:47-51)

PRAYER;  FOR YOU WE HUNGER; FOR YOU WE THIRST!

JESUS IS ALWAYS HERE FOR US. AND I AM AMAZED HOW TRUE I FOUND THAT TO BE IN MY FAITH JOUNEY.  

 

Leave a Reply

