CONNIE’S MEMORIES-CHRISTMAS TREE

Hi all, just a quick memory. My son just showed a few photos of he and his family going to cut their own Christmas tree down on a Christmas tree farm. I think it cost them $67. which I guess is a good price where they live. Not sure how much it cost now in this little corner of Maine, but they were on sale at Walmart for $15 and $20. all wrapped and ready to go and they were beautiful, but that’s not cutting it down either.
Anyhow, my memories of Christmas always include cutting down the Christmas tree and we did it every year of my 18 years at home. I don’t know who owned the woods at the end of my street and field, but the Christmas trees were free for the cutting and everyone in our neighborhood cut theirs down in those woods which went on for 100’s of miles.
Always on a Sunday afternoon, because my father worked the other 6 days, we started out right after dinner. In the beginning my mother went also. She really liked the outdoors, so it would be my father, mother, myself and my brother who is 2 years younger. WE would search until we found the perfect tree, and my father cut it down and we all helped pull it home which was a mile or two down the road. My father would put it in the shed until the week before Christmas, when he trimmed it and put it up. Then we all decorated the tree. Some years the tree did not look quite as good once we got it in the house as it did in the woods, but once decorated, you know it looked beautiful.
MEMORIES: I think the important thing about this memory is family. Once, my sister was born and then my younger brothers, things changed and my mother had to stay home many of the years. But when she did, it was always fun to arrive home and show off our BEAUTIFUL but imperfect tree. I do have photos somewhere of some of those beautiful trees.
The biggest thing of all this was being part of a family with parents that loved me. I knew they loved me because they made time for me. My father and mother certainly had other things to do besides spending the afternoon walking 2 miles out, spending time looking for the perfect tree, and dragging it back home another 2 miles, sometimes in the dark. And can you imagine what it was like when we were small? Probably carrying us also. Lots of time there was snow, and one of them could haul us on a sled, but what a job that must of been, but we had fun. Thank you Mom and Dad, for the wonderful memories.

GOD MADE FAMILIES FOR A REASON. IT MADE US FEEL LOVED AND IMPORTANT. WE BELONGED. PARENTS, MAKE MEMORIES WITH YOUR CHILDREN, IT CAN EFFECT THEIR ENTIRE LIVES.

Leave a Reply

