CONNIE’S MEMORIES-NEW YEAR’S EVE

THIS IS ONE OF MY BEST AND FUN MEMORIES, WHICH I THINK OF EVERY NEW YEAR’S EVE.

When I got divorced and came back to Maine, I had 4 children ages 7 to 15.  I was never much for going to New Year’s Eve parties and leaving my children at home, so we decided to hold our own New Year’s Eve Party, usually it was just us 5 but sometime one of my children’s friend and mother came over, sometime other friends of theirs.

We put away dinner, cleaned up and made dip, chips, desert and whatever along with soda, which we very seldom bought. We played board games and fun and harmless party games.  We laughed a lot.

At one point, two of my children were altar boys, so they went to serve Mass and then came home and we continued or started the party then.

We did stay up until midnight. At midnight my crowd of youngsters took pans, horns, and whatever made noise and went out and up and down the street (we lived in the middle of town) making as much noise as possible and yelling HAPPY NEW YEAR. I watched the ball come down in Times Square, then we all went to bed.

Sounds like something very simple doesn’t it?  That’s what makes memories, simple things that families do together.  And this is one of my favorites.

 

Leave a Reply

